Posted by: Martti | September 20, 2009

My hobby

My hobby is playing tennis. I like it because you can play it with almost anyone and anywhere. I play tennis twice a week at the Smash tennis center near my school. I’ve played it on my own for four years, but regularly for only two years. I play tennis around the year in and outdoors with my friends and relatives. It’s easy to start tennis. You can sign up for classes at the nearby tennis center where you can usually borrow a racquet and tennis balls. Tennis is easy to learn and fun to play. You can play it in groups of four or with your friend. You can play tennis in many ways: you can play intensely and get in shape or you can play calmly and discuss with your partner
My favourite tennis player is Roger Federer. He is definatly one of the best tennis players of all times. He has won six Wimbledon tournaments and is currently ranked No. 1 by the ATP (Association of Tennis Professionals).  He also holds the record of reaching 10 consecutive Grand Slam finals

The homepage of Smash Tennis (Helsinki) http://smashtennis.sporttisaitti.com/smash-helsinki/

A sample of Federers play style

Tennis is also used in commercials

You can get injuries while playing tennis (watch his left foot) 

A tennis court diagram

File:Tennis court metric.svg


Responses

  1. Your story was really good and the structure was also very good. You have clarified your text really well with videos and links. The text was clear and easy to read. I didn’t notice any mistakes. It made the text more interesting because you had the videos, so that was very good.

  2. Contents: Very good
    Media / appearance: Excellent
    Grammar: Excellent

    Your English is amazingly fluent. However, you need structure – think about what you want to say in each paragraph (introduction, body, ending) and then come a full circle! You could also challenge yourself by using more advanced vocabulary and really showing off your skills! I love the variety in the media you have found for us (Pixar is SO funny ;))!

  3. I love this Martti, I play tennis as well and I have to write an essay on it so I may use a little bit of your paragraph if thats okay. I also found some good tennis essays to use so I’ll share that with you in exchange for your help: Tennis Essay


Leave a comment

Categories