Posted by: Taru | September 22, 2009

Power of the People

I’m writing this knowing that it’ll probably make me seem really geeky (I mean, even more so…) but whatever. I’m not ashamed to love and I don’t care what some might say. I want to tell you about this community on internet. Now that might sound a little dumb but I assure you it’s really not.

I have never before in my life been this proud to be a part of something.

When one of us was in trouble and her dog needed and emergency surgery that she couldn’t afford we stepped in to help. We raised almost 1000 dollars (approximately 710 euros) in just 48 hours. We saved that dog’s life.

Now there’s plans for a much bigger project: changing the lives of a whole village in Africa. The general idea was to raise enough money to build a well and so provide the people living near-by clean and safe water to drink (a priviledge I think everyone should have). That’d mean around 20 000 dollars (14 100 euros). Immediately there was a huge flood of responses. Literally hundreds of people interested and willing to help in any way they can – me included. We are a community over 6000 people strong (and growing!). Just imagine what we can do.

Just because it’s the internet does not mean all the wonderful people I’ve met all over the world and the things we have accomplished are any less real.

The community in question is ontd_startrek and this post and its comments tell everything I love about it for me.


Responses

  1. I like this blogg, because you are telling about yourself. But you should’ve told better what are you doing. How can you get the money for example ? I can see that you are doing very good job. The lenght is fine, but pictures or something like that would be nice. I would like to know abit more about this. How did you started to do that ?

  2. Contents: Excellent
    Media / appearance: Good
    Grammar: Excellent
    –> there ARE planS

    The sincerity of your post is moving and the subject meaningful. I never realized that Star Trek fan communities were actually using their influence as a group to help people around the world. How clever and heart-warming! You’re right, there is nothing shameful about being an alien/human-loving geek!

    Your English vocabulary and grammar are on an advanced level. Using the Internet on a daily basis to communicate with faraway friends has surely helped. The structure is a little confusing though, you might have mentioned the name of the community in the second paragraph and then moved on to telling the reader all about it. The suspense is a little too much.

    LIVE LONG AND PROSPER 😉


Leave a comment

Categories